Claus-Dieter Zink

* 05.05.1940   † 15.08.2010

The search for the ideal moment: combined with the soaring conditions this undertaking – more than in common photography – is like a Sisyphean labour. Light, vista, distance, fore and background – each and every parameter is constantly changing in aviation. Additionally often thermals are gusty, making photo composition nearly impossible.

Claus-Dieter Zink, doctor by profession and glider pilot by heart, knew about these particular challenges in soaring-photography. “The frozen moment inevitably always develops into the unforeseeable” he once said.

His initial flying at just 15 years of age had been a present from his father. His whole life Claus-Dieter Zink was devoted to soaring. Furthermore by 1970 he discovered his love for photography.

An initial hobby turned into a passion, throughout the years he developed and perfected a unique technique, allowing him to combine soaring and photography into a highly creative art.

Soaring and photography – the synthesis finally lead to the idea to combine the most beautiful soaring pictures in an annual calendar. An enterprise always very much encouraged and supported by his wife Claudia.

Since about 2005 the great photo-artist also undertook global voyages – from Austria, Italy and France to South America (Argentina) as well as the southwest of Africa (Namibia). On his extended journeys, Serres in southern France became his second home. Claus-Dieter Zink spent many month there. Together with other glider pilots he was taking off time and again from the local airfield of Klaus Ohlmann to new photo destinations.

Claus-Dieter Zink bequeathed us an outstanding collection. Soaring on the alpine landscape and the moody lighting of the south, his photographic work was of an unrivalled quality. His fascinating motifs, often from a breath-taking point of view, are just as much a declaration of love for the beauty of our planet.

 
Up

Claus-Dieter Zink

* 05.05.1940   † 15.08.2010

Die Suche nach dem idealen Augenblick: Unter den Bedingungen des Segelflugs gleicht dieses Unterfangen – mehr noch als beim herkömmlichen Fotografieren – einer wahren Sisyphus-Arbeit. Licht, Perspektive, Abstände, Vorder- und Hintergrund – jeder dieser Parameter ändert sich beim Fliegen ständig. Hinzu kommt eine oft böige Thermik, die eine Bildkomposition nahezu unmöglich macht.

Claus-Dieter Zink, Arzt von Beruf und Segelflieger aus Leidenschaft, wusste um die besonderen Herausforderungen der Segelflug-Fotografie. „Der eingefrorene Augenblick entsteht zwangsläufig immer unvorhersehbar“, sagte er einmal.

Seine ersten Flugstunden mit gerade einmal 15 Jahren hatte ihm sein Vater geschenkt. Dem Segelfliegen ist Claus-Dieter Zink dann sein ganzes Leben lang treu geblieben. Etwa um das Jahr 1970 entdeckte er darüber hinaus für sich die Liebe zur Fotografie.

Aus dem anfänglichen Hobby wurde Passion, im Laufe der Jahre entwickelte und perfektionierte er eine einzigartige Technik, die es ihm gestattete, Segelflug und Fotografie auf höchst kreative Weise zu verbinden.

Segelfliegen und Fotografieren - diese Synthese mündete schließlich in die Idee, die schönsten Segelflug-Aufnahmen zu einem eigenen Jahreskalender zusammenzustellen. Ein Vorhaben, in dem ihn seine Frau Claudia stets bestärkte und unterstützte.

Etwa ab 2005 unternahm der große Fotokünstler Reisen rund um den Globus – von Österreich, Italien und Frankreich bis hin nach Südamerika (Argentinien) sowie in den Südwesten Afrikas (Namibia). Auf seinen ausgedehnten Touren wurde ihm Serres in Südfrankreich zur zweiten Heimat. Dort verbrachte Claus-Dieter Zink viele Monate. Und vom dortigen Flugplatz von Klaus Ohlmann brach er gemeinsam mit anderen Piloten immer wieder zu neuen Foto-Zielen auf.

Claus-Dieter Zink hat ein herausragendes Werk hinterlassen. Beflügelt von alpinen Landschaften und der Lichtstimmung des Südens gelangen ihm fotografische Arbeiten von einzigartiger Qualität. Seine faszinierenden Motive, oft aus atemberaubender Perspektive, sind gleichsam Liebeserklärungen an die Schönheit unserer Erde.

Segelflugpilot Claus-Dieter Zink
 
Foto Claus-Dieter Zink
Nach oben